(September 26, 2006 – Weirs, NH) A unique historical
lake map is now available for sale at the Lake Winnipesaukee
Museum in the Weirs thanks to Philip B. Parsons, Jr., of
Center Sandwich. An original “Decorative and Informative
Map of Lake Winnipesaukee” by Mr. Parsons’ father,
the artist Philip B. Parsons, Sr., has been donated to the
Museum and permission received to reproduce the circa 1960
vintage map for sale in the Museum’s store.
The black and white map features attractive pen and ink
sketches in a border around the lake map of the flora, fauna
and activities significant to the area. Historical lake
trivia is noted in a slanted script throughout the print,
such as “Center Harbor saw the first boat race between
Harvard and Yale in 1852.”
“This is a unique map that has a camp-like feel to
it that would make a great decorative item for one’s
home or office,” stated Ann Sprague, executive director
of the Lake Winnipesaukee Historical Society.
“The little pictures of bass and salmon, raccoons
and chipmunks, herons and loons, as well as the fun lake
activities of boating, camping, swimming, and sailing, give
you a lot to look at.” Philip Parsons, Jr., son of the artist and a resident of
Center Sandwich donated an original map, a 1901 postmarked
envelope indicating “Long Island, New Hampshire,”
and a print of his father’s painting entitled “The
Old Mount Washington at Long Island on Lake Winnipesaukee,
New Hampshire,” that was based on an 1885 family photograph
and featured in the August 1965 issue of Yankee Magazine.
Parsons’ ancestors first came to Lake Winnipesaukee
in 1821 when his great great grandfather John Brown settled
on Long Island, off Moultonboro Neck. The property they
owned included Brown’s Wharf, once a major docking
area, and the Long Island Inn, which was owned by George
Kittredge Brown during the steamboat era and remains in
the family today. The Old Mount Washington Steamer would
stop at Long Island twice a day, bringing boarders for the
inn, as well as mail, food and luggage. At one time, several
of Parsons’ ancestors worked on the old Mount in various
capacities of captain, engineer and purser.
Philip B. Parsons, Sr., attended the Boston School of Painting
and the Child-Walker School of Art in Boston, and studied
with Howard Smith and William Harnden Foster, both former
pupils of Howard Pyle. He did over 70 covers for such magazines
as National Sportsman, Hunting and Fishing, and Outdoors,
as well as the first catalog for LL Bean in 1925. (The painting
now hangs at the LL Bean headquarters in Freeport, Maine.)
Parsons also illustrated books and magazines on a regular
basis, including Yankee Magazine.
The 22” x 20” maps are available for sale at
the Lake Winnipesaukee Museum for $20 a piece. Wholesale
rates are also available for distributors. The map adds
to the variety of items for sale at the Museum Store, with
proceeds from all sales going to the Museum Fund, established
by Lake Winnipesaukee Historical Society President Beth
Lavertue to dedicate funds for museum improvements.
The Lake Winnipesaukee Historical Society is a 501(c)3
nonprofit organization established in 1985 to preserve and
promote the history and heritage of Lake Winnipesaukee and
vicinity. The historical society fulfills this mission in
large part through its Lake Winnipesaukee Museum which is
open year round, Tuesday through Saturday, from 10:00 a.m.
to 2:00 p.m. The museum is located directly on Route 3 in
the Weirs section of Laconia, one mile north of the Weirs
Beach sign, next door to Funspot and admission is free.
For further information about the organization or to purchase
tickets for the event, please contact email@example.com,